Who doesn’t love Friday night?

by EJ

Best night of the week, no question.

I’m currently accompanying my footy on TV watching with a six pack of #9 from Magic Hat. This is another score that I was quite excited about because it certainly is a brewery that has garnered quite a following. From the limited amount of reading that I do, their name is one that I have encountered on a number of occasions, much like Dogfish Head.

I have to say, however, that the old #9 has not gone down particularly well. To my mind it has a bit of an unusual kit beer twang to it, that (believe me) I have experienced many a time. The main thing that puts me off however is that it is a beer that demonstrates to me how unnecessary it is to add “fruit flavors.” It’s an apricot number which at best warrants a cursory, curious glance and that’s about it. I don’t think I’ll be smashing back another six too soon.

The first apricot beer I had was from Monteiths, out of New Zealand which brew a number of very decent beers. About three weeks ago I found a 500ml apricot ale and knocked it back. The exercise garnered pretty much the same response as what I’ve had toward #9 tonight. Good to try but not long stayers by any stretch, in my humble opinion.